A Painful Prophecy Regarding Peter- Summer with the Savior- Day 13

Standard

“Simon, Simon, behold, Satan demanded to have you, that he might sift you like wheat, but I have prayed for you that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.” Peter said to him, “Lord, I am ready to go with you both to prison and to death.” Jesus said, “I tell you, Peter, the rooster will not crow this day, until you deny three times that you know me.” (Luke 22:31-34 ESV)

 

There is something chilling about this passage. Always has caused the hair on my neck to stand up.

 

I have no clue what I would do if Jesus told me that Satan was demanding to sift me like wheat and was explaining that I was going into the crucible of his hatred.

I have always loved Peter. He is the one whose story resonated with me- blue collar tough (like a football linebacker) – arrogant- leader- opens mouth before thinking- bold- aggressive.

He is the one that Jesus leads through brokenness, many times, and loves him to restoration.

We know the story- great highs: walking on water- proclaiming Jesus as the Christ- preaching at Pentecost- healing people with just his shadow in Acts.

We know his lows: ‘get thee behind Me Satan’- weeping bitterly after the third denial- and church tradition says he watched his wife martyred for the faith and then himself was hung upside down on a cross.

 

I devoted a section of writings about him- because knowing the story makes his epistles come alive!

http://jayopsis.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/peters-powerful-testimony-pt-1/ I have 10 devotions here.

 

But what can we see about this passage?

 

God allows Satan to attack– but it always results for good to those who love God and are called according to His purpose (Rom. 8:28)

Satan is evil and powerful and he hates those who live for Jesus

What Jesus prays is accomplished I have prayed that you will not fail and when you return

We should never promise what we will do for God. We pray for God’s grace and are totally dependent on Him.

Even the greatest men of faith have feet of clay.

 

I often get weary when I think of the constant attack of evil and sin. In the depths of Peter’s greatest sorrow- there is no describing the helplessness and loneliness of those deep hurts and losses. God sees and feels that pain and I know His heart aches for the final destruction of pain and loneliness- we live in a broken world among broken people.

But NONE of that pain will even be a drop of the joy that Peter experienced as he stepped through eternity into the arms of His loving friend and Savior.

This is the day that I will be excited to meet.. in His timing and for His glory!

 

 

Leave a comment